top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMatthew Helstrip

#6 R&R

Rest and relaxation are concepts that have eluded me for quite some time. My struggle stems from a deeply ingrained belief that relaxation means idleness – simply sitting without a care in the world. However, I've come to realize that this notion is flawed.


Rest encompasses a range of activities aimed at rejuvenation and recovery. Each of us has a unique interpretation of what constitutes rest, shaped by our experiences and perceptions.


Yet, I often find myself frustrated by the lack of opportunities to indulge in what I perceive as "doing nothing." Even when such moments arise, my mind is quick to race towards tasks and obligations, sending me into a downward spiral of rumination and negativity. (See post #5)


Over time, I've learned to redefine relaxation. It's not about inactivity but rather engaging in activities that provide respite from mental exertion. Surprisingly, physical labor, whether in the garden or at work, has emerged as a source of relaxation for me. It offers a reprieve from continuous

problem-solving and energises me.


Stephen Covey talks about the 4 dimensions of renewal:

  1. Physical (exercise, nutrition and stress management)

  2. Social/Emotional (Service, empathy, synergy and intrinsic security)

  3. Spiritual (value clarification, study and mediation)

  4. Mental (reading, visualising, planning and writing)


This has been instrumental in reshaping my understanding of rest. Reflecting on these dimensions, I've realized that many activities I engage in, such as walking, reading, meditating, laboring, and journaling, contribute significantly to my well-being, yet I often fail to recognize them as forms of relaxation.


Inspired by a recommendation from a friend (@robbridgewater_), I conducted an energy audit, meticulously tracking my activities and noting their impact on my energy levels over seven days. This exercise provided invaluable insights into activities that boost or drain my energy. Armed with this knowledge, I'm committed to prioritizing activities that uplift me while minimizing those that deplete my energy reserves.


To anyone grappling with similar challenges, I urge you to pay attention to how different activities affect your energy levels and prioritize those that leave you feeling revitalized. By consciously cultivating moments of genuine relaxation, we can nurture our well-being and reclaim control over our lives.

16 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Rob Bridgewater
Rob Bridgewater
Jun 09

100%. Well writen. It's not always about doing nothing, but finding ways in which you can be immersed without distraction. Thanks for sharing.

Like
bottom of page