top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMatthew Helstrip

#15 Imbalance

This week has been a reminder that, despite how well-planned your goals may be, sometimes adjustments are necessary to accommodate unexpected events. It’s not always about doing everything right but about doing the right things. I often find myself chasing the next goal, and this week, all those pursuits caught up with me.


As I’ve shared before, my life is quite busy, juggling family responsibilities, a full-time job, and running a business while dedicating time to my wellbeing. This week, I faced two new challenges:


Challenge 1: Preparing for a 12km run by the end of August, despite being new to cardio training after focusing solely on strength training for over 12 years.


Challenge 2: Managing the increased workload and resources needed for a significant business contract that will help us reach our revenue targets.


I became increasingly overwhelmed, struggling to balance these new demands with my existing commitments. After discussing my feelings with Kelly, my wife, she highlighted a difficult truth: I couldn't maintain all my commitments while adding more. By stretching myself too thin, I risked neglecting my family and future relationships.


This realization, though uncomfortable, taught me an important lesson: growth often requires difficult choices and adjustments. It's essential to balance ambitions with the impact on personal relationships and well-being.


As Steven Bartlett, The Diary of the CEO, said, "When you refuse to accept an uncomfortable truth, you’re choosing to accept an uncomfortable future."


Having a support system to hold us accountable can make a significant difference. How do you manage your goals and commitments? Do you have someone who helps keep you on track?


I’ve made the tough call to reduce my strength training, to accomodate my increased cardio commitment. I’ve also decided to put my reading challenge on hold, so that I can focus on writing policies and procedures that will support the next development of my business.


Reflecting on these lessons will help me navigate future challenges more effectively.

I hope sharing this experience offers some insight into managing competing priorities and setting realistic goals. I hope it also shows that sometimes we know what we need to do to get a better outcome, but we just need someone to confirm with us what we know to be true.


“Growth is an endlessly iterative process. When we learn something new or do something to overcome a challenge, we don’t go from ‘wrong’ to ‘right’. Rather we go from wrong to slightly less wrong and continue on this process of approaching truth and perfection without actually getting them.” - Mark Manson, The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F***

Recent Posts

See All

#20 Lights Out

This week, an unexpected power outage affected our home for about 28 hours. Fortunately, I was at the office and didn’t experience the...

Comments


bottom of page